top of page
  • Markella Filtsos

What it means to be a volunteer

Updated: Mar 2, 2021

By: Markella Filtsos


Since middle school, volunteering has become something I have developed a deep passionate for. This fire started slowly but was ignited in high school while fulfilling those mandatory service hours needed for graduation (that we all loved so much). Since there was no way around completing these hours, I figured I should use this opportunity to gain some life experience, learn about myself and discover what exactly I want to invest my limited time and energy into. Through years of volunteering, I’ve learnt that there is tremendous value in committing to something for selfless reasons. It’s not about what others can do for you, it’s about what you can do for others. I do empathize with the fact that as we get older and life gets busier, there are times where it can feel like we barely have time to breath- never mind volunteer. But to that I say life is about priorities and choices though I do recognize being in a position to volunteer your time is a privilege in itself. Most volunteers may not necessarily have the time, but they certainly have the heart.


I have always believed that your main motivation to do something for others should never be for what you could potentially get in return (like compensation or recognition). I was raised under the impression that if you are capable of doing something for others, you should do it. We should be incentivized by growth rather than greed. Those who volunteer are willing to offer something that is not required, nor an obligation simply because they understand they are capable of making the world better for others. Volunteering allows you to connect and collaborate with like-minded individuals with the common goal of social justice. As you invest your time and effort into something, you become connected to both the problem and the solution. You become motivated by your accomplishments and the impact they have on others who may never be able to repay you. Although volunteering may be considered a selfless act, I’ve learnt first-hand that the positive benefit is mutually. You have the opportunity to develop a symbiotic relationship with your community.


I believe that the best way to keep growing as a person is by getting involved, stepping out of your comfort zone and trying something new. My involvement with Queen’s Correctional Service Volunteers (QCSV) provided me with numerous opportunities to push myself out of my comfort zone for reasons outside of myself. I like to pride myself for my ability to connect with others from different backgrounds as I tend to draw attention to our similarities rather than our differences. For example, the offenders I’ve worked with through QCSV often question why young female University students would ever volunteer their time to run program for convicted felons. My answer is often something to the effect of why not? We are all humans who unfortunately make mistakes. However, a mistake is only a mistake if you learn from it the first time. Over the years I’ve seen first-hand that those who are incarcerated are among the most marginalized people in society who are rarely shown humility. Being kind is the simplest way to tell someone who’s struggling that there is good to be found in this world. My volunteer experience working with people from all walks of life, from children to federal offenders to those with terminal illnesses, has taught me that you don’t have to be brilliant, rich, beautiful or prefect to make a difference in someone’s life- all you have to do is care.


Volunteering gives you the chance to try new things and uncover your personal strengths and weaknesses though stepping out of your comfort zone. Becoming involved with a diverse variety of clubs or non-profit organizations provides you the opportunity to experience certain situations and to learn about the work environments that most suit you. Being a volunteer can be a thankless position (and that is okay) therefore, you must be proud of your efforts and intentions behind every project your involved in rather than relying on recognition from others. In my experience, the organizations I’ve been a part of have been very grateful for my contributions which definitely is a motivator to keep working hard and taking initiative.


My involvement with QCSV has been highlight of my university experience and I will forever be grateful for is my involvement in this student run club. My experience with QCSV has taught me that it truly does not take a lot to make a difference in the lives of others. The work we do with federal offenders involves helping to developing soft skills through meaningful human contact. As students, I find we often underline our abilities to have an impact on our community when in reality, the simplest acts such as a weekly check in phone call, can have the most profound effects on others. The feeling of being a part of a student run organization that operates with the intentions of improving the lives of those incarcerated and the Kingston community respectively is truly empowering. I’ve learnt that I am truly passionate about seeking opportunities to help others. It is important to acknowledge that your time and undivided attention is the most precious thing you can give to others. Helping one person might not change the world, but it could change the world for one person and that’s good enough for me.

224 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page