top of page
  • Sarah Hunter

Our Positive Experiences Volunteering with QCSV

In this unprecedented and crazy time, the members of QCSV thought that it would be beneficial to reflect upon our positive experiences volunteering in the institutions over the past few years. There is no doubt that the experiences we’ve encountered have impacted how we view the world and others around us today. Most importantly, it is these experiences that make us want to continue the work we do with offenders. In this blog we will be reflecting on a few of the experiences that stick out to us for one reason or another. However, this doesn’t even begin to scratch the surface of the immense amounts of influential and motivating occurrences we could share. One of the best parts about being a member of the QCSV team is that we get to share these stories with each other and the offenders. Now we want to share them with you too…

 

“My experience with QCSV has taught me that it truly does not take a lot to make a difference in the lives of others. As students, I find we often undermine our abilities to have an impact and help those in need when in reality the simplest acts- like having a genuine conversation, exchanging words over a game of cards or sharing a laugh are often the solution. Our volunteers are able to engage with offenders who are rarely shown kindness and compassion. The overwhelmingly positive feedback we have gotten from the offenders and staff reinforces the idea that the work QCSV does is making a difference in the lives of others and I am so proud to be a part of this organization!” - Markella Filtsos, Co-President

 

“One of the most influential first-hand experiences I’ve had with QCSV was during a programming session at Millhaven Institution’s SIU. When a group of offenders asked me why I volunteered in the prison system, I conveyed my belief that rehabilitation should be more important than the punitive objectives of incarceration. One replied by saying, “If you really believe that, then maybe you should change the system itself. What you see when you come for your two hour sessions may seem rehabilitative, but you have no idea what happens to us when you leave”. This was a disturbing statement to hear and it made me question whether I was overlooking a fundamental issue with the institutions I was so happy to be working in. Thinking about this encounter, I am reminded that although I have loved working within the prison system, I recognize that there are serious flaws within the criminal justice system, and the correctional system more specifically. This is one of my favourite memories, not because it is a happy one, but because it is what made me realize that the passion I had for QCSV was developing into a passion for prison reform. Since this encounter, I have decided to pursue a career in law with the hope of eventually working in the areas of prisoner human rights and criminal justice reform. I have QCSV to thank for this decision.” - Kyra McGovern, Co-President

 

“I was volunteering in the SIU at Millhaven one weekend with some offenders who I had interacted with previously, but also a couple of guys I hadn’t seen before. One of the new guys asked me how much I was getting paid to be there. When I said I wasn’t, he wanted to know how many volunteer hours I was getting instead. The answer once again was none. He couldn’t fathom that I was willingly choosing to spend my Saturday mornings in the prison playing cards with the offenders. And that shocked me. I continue to be astonished by how surprised they were that someone cared. No strings attached. This impact is what I love most about volunteering with QCSV; that I can make such a meaningful difference in an offender’s life by simply offering my time.” - Flo Nusselder, Program Coordinator for Joyceville Institution and Collins Bay Institution

 

“One experience that I will always remember with QCSV was a time I was volunteering in SIU. That day there were some guys who were very interested in talking and doing some activities with us while others wanted to do their own thing. There was one guy who near the end of our time expressed to me how he looks forward to us coming in every week, as it is the highlight of his week. While this guy was mostly doing his own thing and only interacted with us a little bit, I could tell that he truly was grateful that we came. To me there is something really special about someone who seems big, tough and hard-shelled expressing how much us coming in and interacting means to them.” - Grace McClelland, Program Co-ordinator for Millhaven SIU and Regional Treatment Centre

 

“I remember one time when I was volunteering at Henry Trail Halfway House one of the offenders who regularly took part in our programs was moving to a new home and it was the last day we were going to be seeing him. At the end of the session he told us that he wanted to say a few words as he stood up in front of the room and began a speech that he had clearly been thinking about for quite some time. He expressed his gratitude towards all of us volunteers and explained how much he appreciated all the time we spent coming in and doing programs with him. Essentially, he said that the programs and activities we came in to do had given him something to look forward to, and something to motivate him. It was at that point I had realized that although it is only a few hours of my time, it makes a huge impact on so many people, this time so much so that the offender prepared an entire speech and was nearly in tears saying goodbye. QCSV has allowed me to really make a difference in so many lives and this instance is one I’ll never forget.” - Sarah Hunter, QCSV Bookkeeper

 

“During my first year with QCSV, I had the opportunity to build toys with offenders that were donated to a woman’s shelter during the holiday season. After we were done, one of the offenders spoke about how he was grateful to be able to take part in this activity. He felt as if this was one of his first positive contributions to his community and he was moved to tears thanking us for providing him the opportunity to give back.” - Carlee Seiler, Co-director of Campus and Community Outreach

 

“One of my favourite experiences while working with offenders is listening to their stories, goals and learning how talented many of them are. I've met several individuals who are very skilled in art, and have learned some of the offenders' goals including; owning their favourite car, developing better relationships with family members, returning to school, and writing their own book about their experience in prison. Upon transition from the community environment to prison, many offenders have learned or adapted by masking their feelings or emotions. As you develop a professional relationship with offenders, it is very meaningful when they feel comfortable sharing their goals with you. Thus, my positive experience with QCSV and volunteering with offenders occurs every time I enter the institutions to interact with and gain perspective on the unique insights and goals of the offenders I meet.” - Sara Mohamed, Finance and Logistics Director

 

The common theme amongst these experiences is the overall privilege it is to be able to make a positive impact on our community as well as the offenders we see during our programming. QCSV is working very hard during these trying times to remain present and busy within the community. Moving forward, we cannot wait to add many more experiences to this list.

215 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page